CENTERVILLE CITY COUNCIL WORK SESSION MEETING JANUARY 10, 1994

TIME:

7:00 P.M.

PLACE:

Centerville Municipal Building, Law Library

PRESENT: Mayor Shirley Heintz

Deputy-Mayor Brooks Compton Councilmembers Mark Beasley

Sally Beals James Singer J. V. Stone

C. Mark Kingseed

Clerk of Council Marilyn McLaughlin

City Manager Gregory Horn

Assistant City Manager Michael Haverland

Assistant to the City Manager Judith Gilleland

City Beautiful Commission applicant Ann Spohn was interviewed by City Council. Council concurred that said appointment be made. This will be an agenda item for the January 17, 1994 Council Meeting.

The meeting recessed at this time for a Special Council Meeting.

The Work Session reconvened with City Planner Alan Schwab and City Engineer Norbert Hoffman present to answer questions of Council relative to the revised Thoroughfare Plan and the Parks and Public Open Space Plan for the City of Centerville. plans are set for Public Hearing at the January 17, 1994 Council Meeting. Following discussion, it was agreed that a 7 lane profile be eliminated from the Thoroughfare Plan and the roadway indicated by dots in the Architectural Preservation District be referred to as existing right-of-way.

Miss Gilleland outlined for Council changes which are contained in the City's Personnel Ordinance for 1994.

Mrs. McLaughlin advised that Jon T. Rarick, recently interviewed as a candidate for appointment to the City Planning Commission, has indicated an interest in being appointed as a member of the Centerville Arts Commission. Council concurred that said appointment be made.

Briefly discussed was the lack of meetings held by the Centerville Property Review Commission. Upon request of Council, a written narrative will be prepared for Council's review relative to cases in existence for 90 days or more.

Mrs. McLaughlin advised that several terms will soon expire on the Centerville Property Review Commission. Council concurred that James Wasson be reappointed as Chairman for an additional Year, and that Dan Carfagno and John Lohbeck be reappointed to additional three year terms.

A written ballot was conducted for the appointment of a Deputy-Mayor from among Councilmembers. Mr. Stone received the largest majority of votes.

Marilyn J. McLaughlin Clerk of Council

Approved