## MINUTES OF ORGANIZATION MEETING OF COUNCIL.

The newly elected members of the council of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, met in the Council Chamber on Monday evening, January 3, 1944 at eight o'clock for the purposes of organization.

Present: Messrs. Daniel C. McCoy, Grafton E. Shawen,
Mason McClure, Wendall W. Lawson and Robert E. Fox with Mayor
Emory W. Bradstreet presiding.

Mr. Frank D. McGurk was
absent.

The Mayor opened the meeting with prayer.

Thereupon the following oath of office was taken by the members of council:

## OATH OF OFFICE.

STATE OF OHUO, COUNTY OF MONTGOMERY: ss

Before me, the duly elected, qualified and acting Mayor of the Village of Centerville, in the county of Montgomery and State of Ohio, personally came Daniel C. McCoy, Grafton E. Shawen, Mason McClure, Wendall W. Lawson and Robert E. Fox, who each, being duly sworn according to law, says that he will support the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of the State of Ohio, and that he will faithfully, honestly and impartially discharge his duties as a member of council of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, during his continuance in said office, and until his successor is chosen and qualified.

Hendell the Lawson Grafton E. Shawen

Sworn to before me by the said Daniel C. McCoy, Grafton E. Shawen, Mason McClure, Wendall W. Lawson and Robert E. Fox and by them signed in my presence this 3d day of January A.D. 1944.

Mayor of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio.

The Mayor thereupon announced that the next matter of business was the election of the President of Council.

Mr. Shawen was nominated as President of Council by Mr. McCoy.

Mr. Shawen expressed his appreciation, but declined to serve.

Thereupon Mr. McClure was nominated by Mr. Lawson as President of Council. It was moved by Mr. Fox, seconded by Mr.

McCoy and carried, that nominations close and that Mr. Mason

McClure be elected President of Council. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in four "ayes" being cast in favor of the election of Mr. Mason Mc Clure as President of Council. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. McCoy, Shawen, Lawson and Fox.

The council then proceeded to the election of a councilman to vacancy created by the failure of Mr. Frank D. McGurk to qualify, on account of moving to Cincinnati in the very near future.

Mr. Robert J. Schweizer was then nominated to fill the vacancy on the council due to the failure of Mr. Frank D. Mc Gurk to qualify. It was moved by Mr. McCoy, seconded by Mr. McClure and carried, that nominations close and that Mr. Robert J. Schweizer be elected to council to fill such vacancy. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in five "ayes" being cast in favor of the motion. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. McCoy, Shawen, McClure, Lawson and Fox.

The Mayor thereupon appointed the following committees:

Street Commmittee: Messrs. Grafton E. Shawen, Mason McClure and Robert J. Schweizer. Wewley Light Committee: Messrs. Daniel C. McCoy, Robert J. Schweizer and Robert #. Fox.

It was moved by Mr. Lawson, seconded by Mr. McClure and carried, that said committee appointments be confirmed. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in five "ayes" being cast in favor of the motion. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. McCoy, McClure, Shawen, Lawson and Fox.

Mr. McCoy spoke briefly with reference to the Planning Commission and outlined briefly things that the council should consider in the near future.

It was moved, seconded and carried, that the meeting adjourn.

Approved:

Attest:

Howe Clerk

Mayor.

· Itorwol'