MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE COUNCIL.

The newly elected members of the council of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, met in the Council Chamber on Monday morning, January 1, 1940 at 8:30 o'clock, for the purposes of

organization.

Present: Messrs. Walter H. Woods, Thomas J. Davis, Joseph S. Lucas, Grafton E. Shawen, Lloyd Hibberd and Franklin Zimmerman with Mayor Emory W. Bradstreet presiding.

Thereupon the following oath of office was taken by

the members of council:

OATH OF OFFICE.

THE STATE OF OHIO, COUNTY OF MONTGOMERY: ss

Before me, the duly elected, qualified and acting Mayor of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, personally came Walter H. Woods, Thomas J. Davis, Joseph S. Lucas, Grafton E. Shawen, Lloyd Hibberd and Franklin Zimmerman, who each, being duly sworn according to law, says that he will support the Constitution of the United States, the Constitution of the State of Ohio, and the charter and ordinances of the Village of Centerville; that he will not be influenced by any consideration except that of merit and fitness in the appointment or discharge of employes; that he will not make or authorize the expenditure of public money otherwise than for adequate consideration and efficient service to the Village of Centerville; and that he will in all other respects faithfully, honestly and impartially discharge his duties as member of council of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, during his continuance in said office, and until his successor is chosen and qualified.

Hank

Sworn to before me by the said Walter H. Woods, Thomas J. Davis, Joseph S. Lucas, Grafton E. Shawen, Lloyd Hibberd and Franklin Zimmerman and by them signed in my presence this 1st day of January A.D. 1940.

now radshell Mayor of the Village of Center-

Mayor of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio.

The Mayor thereupon announced that the first item of business was the election of a president pro tem of council. Mr. Lucas then placed the name of Walter H. Woods in nomination. It was moved by Mr. Shawen and seconded by Mr. Davis that A roll call was ordered, which resulted nominations close. in five "ayes" being cast in the affirmative and no "nayes". Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman - Mr. Woods not voting. The question was then put "Shall Walter H. Woods be elected president pro tem of council?" A roll call was ordered, which resulted in five "Ayes" being cast for the election of Walter H. Woods as president pro tem of council and no "nayes". Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman - Mr. Woods not voting. Thereupon Walter H. Woods was declared duly elected as president pro tem of council. He thereupon subscribed to the usual form of oath, which was administered by Mayor Bradstreet.

The resignation of M. H. Bridge as Village Solicitor was then read. It was moved by Mr. Davis and seconded by Mr. Shawen that said resignation be accepted. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in favor of the acceptance of said resignation. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Woods, Hibberd and Zimmerman.

Mr. Shawen thereupon offered Resolution No. 1 - 1940, being "A resolution employing a village solicitor and fixing his compensation." It was moved by Mr. Davis and seconded by Mr. Lucas that said resolution be adopted. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in favor of the resolution. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Woods, Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman. M. H. Bridge named in said resolution as village solicitor thereupon subscribed to the usual form of oath, which was administered by Mayor Bradstreet.

Mayor Bradstreet thereupon made the following committee appointments: Street Committee - Thomas J. Davis, Grafton E. Shawen and Lloyd Hibberd.

Light Committee - Joseph S. Lucas, Walter H. Woods and Franklin Zimmerman.

Finance Committee - M. H. Bridge, Walter H. Woods, William F. Fox and Charles W. Sheehan.

It was moved by Mr. Davis and seconded by Mr. Lucas that the foregoing committee appointments be confirmed. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in the affirmative. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Woods, Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman.

The Mayor thereupon called for the election of a member of council to the Village Planning Commission. Mr. Woods thereupon placed the name of Joseph S. Lucas in nomination and Mr. Zimmerman placed the name of Lloyd Hibberd in nomination. Mr. Shawen then moved that nominations close, which was seconded by Mr. Woods. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in favor of closing nominations. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Woods, Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman. The Mayor thereupon ordered the election by ballot and appointed Messrs. Zimmerman and Woods as Inspectors of Election. The canvassing of the ballots by the Inspectors of Election disclosed that Mr. Lucas and received four votes and Mr. Hibberd Mr. Zimmerman thereupon moved that Mr. Lucas be two votes. unanimously elected to the Village Planning Commission, which was seconded by Mr. Shawen. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in favor of unanimously electing Mr. Lucas as a member of the Village Planning Commission. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Woods, Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman. Mayor Bradstreet thereupon declared Joseph S. Lucas duly elected as a member of the Village Planning Commission.

The Mayor thereupon appointed the following as members of the Village Planning Commission: For a term of six years - Daniel C. McCoy. For a term of four years - Edward Decker. For a term of two years - Clarence Purdin.

Mr. Woods then moved that the foregoing appointments to the Village Planning Commission be confirmed, which was seconded by Mr. Hibberd. A roll call was ordered, which resulted in six "ayes" being cast in favor of the confirmation of the foregoing appointments to the Village Planning Commission. Those voting in the affirmative were Messrs. Woods, Davis, Lucas, Shawen, Hibberd and Zimmerman.

It was moved by Mr. Shawen, seconded by Mr. Hibberd and unanimously carried, that the meeting adjourn.

Attest:

Luella Brown Clerk.

Approved: Emory A. P.

MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING OF THE COUNCIL. The Council of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, met in regular session on Monday evening, January 8, 1940, at 7:30 o'clock in the Council Chamber.

Present: Messrs. Walter H. Woods, Thomas J. Davis, Joseph S. Lucas, Grafton E. Shawen, Lloyd Hibberd and Franklin Zimmerman with Mayor Emory W. Bradstreet presiding.

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and approved.

Thereupon Mr. Lucas introduced Ordinance No. 1 - 1940, being "An Ordinance to make partial appropriations for Current Expenses and other Expenditures of the Village of Centerville, in the County of Montgomery and State of Ohio, during the fiscal year ending December 31, 1940," which was given its first reading.