The Council of the City of Centerville, County of Montgomery, State of Ohio, met on Monday, January 11, 2021, at 6:30 P.M. in the JV Stone Council Chambers of the Centerville Municipal Building. The meeting was opened with an Invocation led by Executive Pastor Steve Rudisill of Christ Church United Methodist, followed by The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag with Mayor Compton presiding. Councilmembers and City Staff were present as follows:

Deputy Mayor Councilmembers JoAnne Rau Mark Engert Belinda Kenley Duke Lunsford

John Palcher (remote)

Bill Serr

Clerk of Council Teri Davis Public Works Director Pat Turnbull City Engineer Jim Brinegar Development Director Mike Norton-Smith City Planner Mark Yandrick Human Resources Director Jen McCormick Communications Director Kate Bostdorff IT Director Larry Rover Municipal Attorney Scott Liberman

Minutes

The minutes of the following meetings had been distributed prior to this meeting:

Council Meeting:

December 21, 2020.

Work Session Meeting: December 21, 2020.

Mr. Lunsford made a motion for approval of the minutes, Mrs. Kenley seconded the motion, and it passed with 7 ayes.

Communications

Mrs. Davis reported no communications.

Citizen Comments and Petitions - none.

Officials' Reports

Mayor Compton spoke about last week's ribbon cutting at Main Street Salon.

Mr. Lunsford updated Council members about his conversation with Steve Wenstrup regarding a commemoration for Jim Reppert. Mr. Wenstrup requests a plaque on the new building once constructed at Benham's Grove.

Mrs. Kenley provided a report about the Sustainability Committee and two of its recent initiatives, a Styrofoam recycling event and a cooperation effort with Kroger to recycle plastic bags.

Mrs. Bostdorff presented the City Manager's Report, speaking about:

- The earnings tax is up 1.25 percent through 2020.
- The Board of Architectural Review will change its meeting start time from 7:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
- Recent positive feedback regarding the Uptown Action Plan.

Consent Agenda

Mayor Compton turned the attention of the group to the Consent Agenda. Any City Councilmember may remove an item from the Consent Agenda by request. No second is required for removal of an item. Items removed for separate discussion will be considered after the motion to approve the remaining Consent Agenda items.

City Council read the Consent Agenda into the record as follows:

- A. Ordinance 01-21, An Ordinance Approving The Editing And Inclusion Of Certain Ordinances And Resolutions As Parts Of The Various Component Codes Of The Codified Ordinances; Providing For The Adoption And Publication Of New Matter In The Updated And Revised Codified Ordinances; And Repealing Ordinances And Resolutions In Conflict Therewith (Set For Public Hearing on January 25, 2021).
- B. Ordinance 02-21, An Ordinance To Repeal Chapter 211, Investment And Deposit Policy, Of The Centerville Municipal Code (Set For Public Hearing on January 25, 2021).
- C. Resolution 01-21, A Resolution Authorizing The City Manager To Enter Into An Agreement For Consulting Services With Organization Solutions, LLC.
- D. Resolution 02-21, Resolution Authorizing The City Manager To Enter Into An Amendment Of The Agreement For Architectural And Specification Services With CT Consultants, Inc.
- E. Resolution 03-21, A Resolution By The Centerville City Council Imposing A Moratorium On Issuance Or Granting Of Applications Or Permits For Self-Storage Facilities In The City Of Centerville, Ohio, For A Period Of Twelve Months (365 Days).
- F. Resolution 04-21, Resolution Authorizing And Directing The City Manager To Enter Into A Right Of Entry Agreement With Washington Township For The Property Next To Town Hall.
- G. A Motion to Appoint City Council And Staff Members as Liaisons and Representatives to Boards and Committees. (2021 List of Council and Staff Appointments attached herein as Attachment "A" and made part hereof)
- H. Motion to Reappoint Don Stewart to the Planning Commission (4 year term).

Mr. Palcher sponsored the Consent Agenda and moved for its approval. Mrs. Rau seconded the motion, and it passed with a 7-0 vote.

Old Business - none.

New Business - none.

Adjournment

With no further business before the Council, Mayor Compton adjourned the regular meeting at 6:44 P.M. The next regular meeting of City Council is scheduled to take place on Monday, January 25, 2021 at 7:30 P.M.

Approved:

Mayor

ATTEST

Clerk of Council

Attachment "A"

COUNCIL COMMITTEES 2021

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Belinda Kenley, Chair JoAnne C. Rau Willis O. Serr II

ENVIRONMENTAL

Brooks Compton, Chair JoAnne C. Rau Mark Engert

FINANCE AND LONG-RANGE PLANNING

John E. Palcher, Chair Willis O. Serr II Duke Lunsford

NEIGHBORHOOD RELATIONS

Belinda H. Kenley, Chair Brooks A. Compton Mark A. Engert

STREETS, HIGHWAYS AND DRAINAGE

John Palcher, Chair Brooks A. Compton Duke Lunsford

COUNCIL LIAISONS

BOARD OF ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW

Duke Lunsford

CENTERVILLE ARTS COMMISSION

John E. Palcher

CENTERVILLE CITY SCHOOLS

Brooks A. Compton

CENTERVILLE-WASHINGTON HISTORY

Mark Engert Alternate Duke Lunsford

CENTERVILLE-WASHINGTON PARK DIST.

JoAnne Rau

CITY BEAUTIFUL COMMISSION

JoAnne C. Rau

CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

John Palcher

COMMUNITY REINVESTMENT AREA HOUSING COUNCIL

John E. Palcher Michael Norton-Smith

SISTER CITY COMMITTEE

JoAnne Rau

WASHINGTON-CENTERVILLE PUBLIC LIBRARY

Willis O. Serr II

WASHINGTON and SUGARCREEK TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES

Brooks A. Compton

CENTERVILLE REPRESENTATION

CENTERVILLE-WASHINGTON DIVERSITY COUNCIL

Wayne S. Davis Kate Bostdorff

DAYTON AREA MANAGERS ASSOCIATION

Wayne S. Davis Mariah Butler Vogelgesang

DAYTON DEVELOPMENT COALITION

Belinda H. Kenley (Delegate) Brooks A. Compton (Alternate)

ENERGY SPECIAL IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT

Michael Norton-Smith

FIRST TIER SUBURBS

Willis O. Serr II Brooks A. Compton JoAnne C. Rau (Alternate)

GREENE COUNTY WATER/WASTEWATER ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Pat Turnbull

MIAMI VALLEY COMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL

JoAnne C. Rau (Delegate) Brooks A. Compton (Delegate) Wayne S. Davis (Alternate)

Government Technology Committee

Wayne S. Davis

MIAMI VALLEY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

Willis O. Serr II (Delegate)

Wayne S. Davis (Alternate)

Technical Advisory Committee

Pat Turnbull

James G. Brinegar (Alternate)

Transportation Committee

Willis O. Serr II (Delegate)

John Palcher (Alternate)

The Lower Greater Miami River Basin Council

Willis O. Serr II

MONTGOMERY COUNTY COMMUNITY DEV. BLOCK GRANT

Brooks A. Compton

MONTGOMERY & GREENE CO. MAYORS & MANAGERS

Brooks A. Compton

Wayne S. Davis

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

Countywide Advisory Committee

Wayne S. Davis (Representative)

Mariah Butler Vogelgesang (Alternate)

MONTGOMERY COUNTY SOLID WASTE

Financial Advisory Committee

Brooks Compton

Pat Turnbull

SWAC

Pat Turnbull

(Brooks Compton Chair)

SWMPC

Pat Turnbull

(Brooks Compton Chair)

OHIO BENEFITS COOPERATIVE

Tyler Roark

Jen McCormick

SATELLITE JUVENILE COURT

Wayne S. Davis

Matthew J. Brown

SOUTH SUBURBAN COALITION

Willis O. Serr II

SYCAMORE MEDICAL CENTER

Citizens Advisory Council

Brooks A. Compton

City Council

Wayne S. Davis

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP RECREATION BOARD

Duke Lunsford (Delegate) Mark K. Engert (Alternate)